Bach’s Pianola

RM970e Bach’s Pianola Firth SAX ENS
RM970e Bach’s Pianola Firth SAX ENS
Digital Download eScore
Composer: Andy Firth
Composed: 2012 Duration: 9 mins.
Instrumentation: Sax Ensemble
ISMN: 979-0-720129-04-4 Catalogue: RM970
Level: D Country: Australia

The story behind Bach’s Pianola.
J.S Bach is working on a fugue late one night when suddenly a pianola from the 20th Century drops into his room. Bach puts aside the piece he is working on and wanders over to the pianola and sits down. As he begins to pedal he hears music that he’d never imagined-ragtime, waltzes and swing! The more music he hears, the faster he pedals.

He plays the pianola for a few hours and then after nearly destroying the pianola with his energy and untamed enthusiasm, he goes back to writing his fugue. But as he begins to write again, he is unable to block this new and wonderful music he has just heard from his mind and as such begins to incorporate it into his fugue.

Dedicated to Philippe Geiss and the Strasbourg Saxophone Ensemble.
Commissioned by Sax & Co for the XVI World Sax Congress in St Andrews Scotland - 2012.

Includes Score and Parts: sopranino, soprano 1, soprano 2, alto 1, alto 2, alto 3, tenor 1, tenor 2, tenor 3, baritone 1, baritone 2, bass sax

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.