MUSXReed Music supports International Music Exams.
click here for online practical music examinations

Silent Night (Gruber)

RM995e Silent Night (Gruber) Firth SAX QUARTET AATB
RM995e Silent Night (Gruber) Firth SAX QUARTET AATB
Digital Download eScore
Composer: Andy Firth
Composed: 2012 Duration: 4 mins.
Instrumentation: Sax Quartet AATB Level C
ISMN: 979-0-720129-35-8 Catalogue: RM995
Level: C Country: Australia

This arrangement of the lovely traditional Christmas carol is set in a lush, sometimes romantic style of a quasi-jazz saxophone section. It is packed with interesting harmonic movement and yet always stays true to the original melody that all know and love. The writing is challenging enough to make it interesting and yet it never crosses over into the “too difficult” category that some jazz saxophone section writing can stray in to. The short “Supersax” two thirds the way through is guaranteed to give listeners goose bumps and all in all this chart is sure to be a crowd pleaser no matter where it’s performed.

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.