Composer: Katy Abbott


RM525e UndercurrenT Abbott SOPRANO SAX/PNO
RM525e UndercurrenT Abbott SOPRANO SAX/PNO
Digital Download eScore
Composer: Katy Abbott
Composed: 2011 Duration: 11:40 mins.
Instrumentation: Sax Soprano & Piano
ISMN: 979-0-720119-82-3 Catalogue: RM525
Level: D Country: Australia

Program Notes

This work was commissioned by saxophone and piano duo HD Duo, Michael Duke - saxophone and David Howie - piano, with the assistance of Sydney Conservatorium of Music CD/DVD Grant.

Although the program of the piece could be likened to the unseen undercurrent of a creek or river, it is in reality, reminiscent of the movement and shift of human emotion and the old adage ‘still waters run deep’.

A thank you to Finnegan Abbott for his musical ideas and inspiration in the second section of the work.

Performance Notes

There is a section in the work for an improvisation/cadenza. The material used can be based on the pre-existing musical ideas already played in the piece and/or material further developed later in the piece that is not yet heard. The soloist is also welcome to play what is written in the score as an alternate to the improvisation. The duration of the cadenza may be extended if desired.

Piano pedalling should be as necessary where marked.

The opening of the work should be very still, in order to contrast with musical ideas to follow.

Sunburnt Aftertones CD – The Chamber Music of Katy Abbott

Composer: Katy Abbott
Composed: 2010 Duration: 60 mins.
Instrumentation: CD Albums
ISMN: n/a Catalogue: RM696
Level: Country: Australia

Suburnt Aftertones CD Cover

Contents: Making Angels (2001) Flute, clarinet & piano

Syzygy Ensemble

No Ordinary Traveller (2006) Song-cycle for mezzo-soprano & mixed trio
Halcyon (Jenny Duck-Chong - mezzo-soprano)

The Empty Quarter (2008) Percussion duo & cello
Collision Theory & Caerwen Martin (cello)

MultiSonics (2010) Solo bassoon
Mark Gaydon

Sunburnt Aftertones (2001) Mixed sextet
Syzygy Ensemble with Arwen Johnson, Aaron Barndon & Caerwen Martin

Egyptian Wish (2001) soprano saxophone trio
Barry Cockcroft, Jessica Voigt & Joseph Lallo

MOVE (MCD 441) Showcasing Caerwen Martin (cello), Mark Gaydon (Bassoon), Barry Cockcroft (saxophone), Joseph Lallo (saxophone), Jessica Voigt (saxophone), Syzygy Ensemble, Halcyon & Collision Theory. Featuring the art of Matthew Quick's Pure Honesty.

Egyptian Wish

RM750e Egyptian Wish Abbott SAX TRIO SSS
RM750e Egyptian Wish Abbott SAX TRIO SSS
Digital Download eScore
Composer: Katy Abbott
Composed: 2001 Duration: 8 mins.
Instrumentation: Sax Trio
ISMN: 979-0-720109-21-3 Catalogue: RM750
Level: D Country: Australia

Performed by Barry Cockcroft, Joseph Lallo & Jess Voigt